Contact Info

Crumbtrail

ActiveXperts.com » Support » Network Monitor » KB Article

Knowledge Base FAQ Item #6500005

 

Q6500005: I want to upgrade to the latest version. What is the procedure for upgrading?

ActiveXperts lets you import any configuration created with an earlier version. That means: all checks, global settings, statistical database and custom scripts.

On ActiveXperts client workstations (if any):

  • If you have client workstations running 'ActiveXperts Network Monitor Manager' to connect to the remote ActiveXperts monitoring server, uninstall the software using the 'Add/Remove Programs' applet on each client workstation.

On the central ActiveXperts monitoring server:

  1. Uninstall 'ActiveXperts Network Monitor' using the 'Add/Remove Programs' applet in the Control Panel. NOTE: The ActiveXperts Program Data folder (default: C:\ProgramData\ActiveXperts\Network Monitor\) will be preserved so you can Restore it in Step 6.
  2. Reboot the server.
  3. Download the latest version of ActiveXperts Network Monitor from the ActiveXperts Download Site
  4. Run the installation; the installation will rename the previous ActiveXperts Program Data folder. Default rename will be:
    C:\ProgramData\ActiveXperts\Network Monitor.saved\.
  5. After installation is complete, you'll be prompted to Restore your previous configuration using a Wizard.
    Note that if you cancel this Wizard, you can always use 'File->Configuration->Restore Configuration' at a later stage.
  6. Optionally, Manually Restore custom scripts (if any). If you use custom scripts (.vbs, .ps1, .cmd or .sh), copy the files manually to the scripts directory. Default script folder:
    C:\ProgramData\ActiveXperts\Network Monitor\Scripts\

If you install Network Monitor in the same directory as the previous Network Monitor version, the configuration is automatically converted. Otherwise, you need to import the previous configuration.
IMPORTANT: If you want to use the same Data Folder (default: 'C:\ProgramData\ActiveXperts\Network Monitor') but the Folder is in use, please see FAQ #6500006.

To (re)install the manager application on remote PC(s), you must (re)create the share in the Remote Manager tab of the 'Remote Management' dialog (Tools menu).

(viewed: 10296)